Swartland - the economy and development plans



Swartland Municipality covers an area of 3 700 square kilometres, stretching from the Atlantic Ocean in the west to the Berg River in the east. To the south it borders the City of Cape Town, to the east the Drakenstein Municipality, to the north the Bergrivier Municipality and to the northeast Saldanha Bay Municipality. In 2015 the estimated population was 120 000. The Municipality includes the towns of Abbotsdale, Chatsworth, Darling, Kalbaskraal, Koringberg, Malmesbury, Moorreesburg, Riebeek Kasteel, Riebeek West, Riverlands and Yzerfontein with its head office based in Malmesbury. More than 1 545 farms make up the bulk of the rest of the municipal area.

12 Fans


There are no photos yet.